About me

I'm Markus Dobler, a 31-year-old computer scientist and electrical engineer living near Tübingen, Germany.

I'm currently finishing my PhD at the Department of Computer Science at the University of Tübingen, under the supervision of Prof. Wolfgang Rosenstiel and Prof. Martin Bogdan. My research focuses on adaptive experiment planning for electrical systems, with a focus on automotive applications (learn more).
Before that, I received a degree as engineer in micro-electro-mechanical systems ('Diplom-Ingenieur der Mikrosystemtechnik', comparable to MSc) at the University of Freiburg.

Education, Work Experience

1990 - 1994
Grundschule Altshausen
1994 - 2000
Progymnasium Altshausen
2000 - 2003
Technisches Gymnasium Ravensburg: 'Abitur' (comparable to A levels) with 1.0 (best grade possible) and four awards.
2003 - 2004
Martinusschule Ravensburg: Civilian service.
2004 - 2009
University of Freiburg, Department of Microsystems Engineering: 'Diplom-Ingenieur der Mikrosystemtechnik' (approx. MSc in MEMS), with 1.0 (best grade possible).
2007 - 2009
Scholarship by Robert Bosch GmbH, doted with 300 Euro/month.
2008, 2008 - 2009
Bosch Sensortec: Work student and internship.
since 2010
University of Tübingen, Department of Computer Engineering: Research assistant and PhD student.

Languages

I'm a native German speaker (with a noticable Swabian influence), and I'm also used to communicate in English. Additionally, I've learned French (4y) and Spanish (3y) in school and was able to carry conversations with native speakers in both languages, but I haven't had the opportunity to refresh these languages since then. Furthermore, I know dozens of programming/markup/declaration languages, currently developping professionally in Matlab and preferring Python for most personal projects.

Skills

By education, I have a strong background in electrical engineering and computer science. In my PhD work, I use applied machine learning and data visualization to make characterization tests and validation tests of electrical systems more efficient.

I've also gained practical experience to varying degrees in embedded systems, number crunching, electronics, devops, woodworking, web applications, internet of things, layout, 3d jewelry printing, automation, ... See my (slowly growing) list of documented projects for some details.

Misc

In my youth, I was an active member of the German Life Safing Foundation (DLRG): I received theoretical and practical training (and certificates) as swimmer, life guard and paramedic. Further, I volunteered as life guard at local lakes, as PR responsible and secretary in the youth committee of the local group, and as instructor for advanced swimming courses for children. While I still help out as supervisor and camp magazine designer at our annual tent camp, I had to quit the other responsibilities when I moved away to study.

I've updated, expanded and verified my knowledge in CS and EE in the first wave of massive open online courses on Coursera, Udacity, MITx and BerkeleyX: Machine Learning, Design of Computer Programs, Digital Signal Processing, The Hardware/Software Interface, Circuits and Electronics, Functional Programming Principles in Scala, Principles of Reactive Programming, Case-Based Introduction to Biostatistics, Intro to Statistics, Descriptive Statistics, Cryptography I, Automata, Competitive Strategy, Intro to Physics.